#901 News that makes you feel good!

I’ve heard a lot of bad news this year… It’s just one of those years, you know?

“The doctor’s are pretty sure I have fibromyalgia…”

“Granny’s not doing very well, she called me and told me she spoke to God and that He said she will be with Him soon… She says she wish she could have met you.”

“She’s in hospital. She’s okay, but her apartment caught on fire, she’s lost everything…”

“She’s had a stroke… they found her unconscious and she wasn’t breathing… Her speech is slurred, don’t know the extent of it yet.”

“Two of my high school friends have died in a car crash…”

“He has cancer, it’s  everywhere in his body”

“Uncle passed away today…”

“My  mum’s had a cerebral  haemorrhage”

“I have a degree and no income. No one’s hiring me, I’m so depressed…”

That’s not even the end of it.
But, no matter what news we get, it’s important to remember the good things going on in our lives. We do have to keep on keepin’ on, because life stops for no being of any kind.

So when we get good news, it’s like fuel. It helps us to press on that little bit more, it makes you feel good! The good news you come across, I find, also helps you come back to the comforting realisation that, although bad things occurred or are happening, good things are happening and have happened too.

Recently, I’ve found out an old friend of mine is engaged! Another is pregnant and another’s chronic health condition has improved! This good news has made me so happy and, dare I say, has begun to make my year!

I’m looking forward to finding out more awesome news :D.

So what’s your good news??? Tell me in the comments section!

Source: freedigitalphotos.net

Source: freedigitalphotos.net

This entry was posted in Uncategorized by Lizzie|1000 Awesome Friends. Bookmark the permalink.

About Lizzie|1000 Awesome Friends

Lizzie is the lover of little things & has been described as zany, odd & "weird but in a good way" (whatever that means). She also finds talking about herself in 3rd person awkward. Liz enjoys most things revolving around the genres of fantasy & sci-fi & likes blogging, literature, writing, singing, music, culture & people. Lizzie is currently sharing the admin role with Nicholas for 1000 Awesome Friends , stemmed from Neil Pasricha's 1000 Awesome Things, to keep the awesomeness going. She welcomes all living beings to contribute their awesome thing/experience - she'd love to read them & keep the awesomeness going!

18 thoughts on “#901 News that makes you feel good!

  1. I can think of countless ways to spin the bad with the good~ to see all the beauty that lies in the space between~ in the 10,000 shades of grey. This is what the Awesome paradigm/movement is all about. Life will have bad news, it’s how we respond/react to the news and what we can rather give some attention to that is positively solution focused in and among it all…and her you will find faith and fortitiude:)
    Timely for this post though, while having a lowly moment of my own yesterday I opened the mail box and found not just flyers and bills but a parcel and card to congratulate me on my new home sweet home yesterday! This is good news!

      • Well, although I haven’t rec’d your card yet, I have your sweet thoughfulnesss to Raise me up over the next few days…I’ll be checking and will post you~ thank you:)

        • MAKE MY DAY!!! Yesterday I received your most beautiful card “with DAISIES” on it, WOW!!! Your heart-felt words, prayers and thoughtfulness moved me to tears of joy and gratitude!!! Now, while I was heading down town to run errands, I had to think, where could I go first that it won’t matter I’ve obviously been crying, when I took a turn I don’t always take and there was a sign: Community lunch, on now~ Everyone Welcome! I walked in and sat down to hear a wonderful prayer. I ate and then I did what I’ve always wanted to do as soon as I moved to town, I volunteered! Their services are extensive year round and include an “In from the cold!” And so this is how the butterfly effect works when we listen and heed:)
          Thank you Bekah!!!
          And just looky at what you could do where you live:

            • I’m running this in my area in September!! There’s a simiar one I’m running at the end of this month called The Color Run. You end up a wonderful rainbow mess at the end of both of them. The one this month will be my very first race.

              • WOW!!! I SO wanna be there!!! PLEASE post some pictures when you’re done!
                Remember to wear your ruby red shoes for somewhere over the rainbow dreams really do come true!
                Could you send me some info on this run, maybe I can spear it up here:)))
                Awesome!!!

                • I will post pics! I’ll even write an awesome thing to go along with it. Both races are 5k and you get colored poweder thrown on you while you run/walk. There’s another one that I want to sign up for called Run or Dye, but they haven’t announced a date for that in my area just yet. Color Run, Color Vibe and Run or Dye.
                  My running shoes are hot pink and black, but if I could have found some ruby red running shoes I would have gotten them!!

          • I’m so glad you finally got my card!!! Also very happy that you had fun volunteering for something that you had no idea about just 5 mins beforehand.

            • Can’t wait to see pics! Every time I see ruby red shoes I think of you anf of course with all the colours of the rainbow at this run, the ruby red shoes would’ve been fashionable, Especially for you!!!
              Sure you’ll have great fun! I can’t wait to see the pictures!!!

    • GREAT!!! 😀 Aww I see the love being spread here! That’s so cool you guys send each other cards! I’m so slack when it comes to snail mail.

      • I’m at the point where I prefer Snail Mail. It gives you more time to think and its exciting to see something in the mailbox that isn’t junk or bills.

        • Amen! Such a treat! Exciting to imagine the choice selection while purchased, just for you. To see the lovely pen-woman/man/child-ship and read the thoughtful words too. The stamp pressed, the envelope sealed, the steps taken to the mail box. The waves and/or sky this letter has crossed…from heart and soul. I LOVE snail mail! So Awesome to get something with real hand-writing on it in the mail…hmmm sounds familiar?!*
          *Speaking of Sir Neil, did you all see this announcement on #699:
          http://1000awesomethings.com/book/
          =D

  2. So much bad news these days and it breaks my heart. I do try to grasp on to the good news as well. My good news- hubby’s been interviewing for another job that pays much better than what he’s making now and will be easier on him too. Looks like he might just get the job.
    My best friend is due with her first baby next month
    I’ve lost 22 pounds this year!!!
    I run my very first 5k at the end of this month.
    Lilly starts 3rd grade on Monday.
    Zach is getting better at sleeping through the night
    My grandpa’s surgery last week went just fine.

    • Satinder, what you’ve said is so beautiful, so right and true! Bekah included this awesomeness in her card; that she prays for me everynight!
      “Friends good blessing are always with you”… doesn’t get more true and awesomer than that!

    • Thanks Satinder, that’s very kind of you to say and a very good reminder to keep with me too. Hope things are well with you and all the best! 🙂

Leave a Reply

