#905 The beauty of uniqueness and the power of acceptance

Dietitian’s say “variety is the spice of life” which is very true and, I guess, could be applicable to some things in life. Like human beings, our uniqueness and our individuality. How boring life would be if we were all the same!

Russian Dolls by James Barker

Russian Dolls by James Barker, via freedigitalphotos.net

Differences, human variability, uniqueness and singularity are beautiful things and we need them! This is one of the things I’ve come to learn, along with the knowledge that it’s important to be open-minded, to not judge and to accept and respect differences. (This is also why I love “Harmony Day“.)

But understanding this didn’t come from something that randomly popped up in my mind. I learnt this from my elders, from my family, from my friends, from you guys at 1000 Awesome Things and 1000 Awesome Friends and from personal life-experiences. So it’s been incredibly inspiring and beautiful to see an increase in people appreciating and accepting the uniqueness of others.

Not to mention those advocating for equality, for the world to accept people’s differences and to remove judgement of people’s differences. These advocates are positively changing the way others think about people – especially the youth of today who are beginning to recognise why those in history fought for acceptance. They fought for our right to live equally and our right to experience everything Mother Earth gives us. We are all human and we are all human beings just wanting to “be”.

Sadly, there are some major battles still happening today, but we’re getting there. Slowly, but surely.

However, what’s amazing is that to just accept someone, to treat someone equally, to continue this notion of embracing, accepting, respecting and celebrating human differences for the better doesn’t need to be done in a very big way. To fight for it, you don’t actually have to physically fight as your inner-strength, words, heart, soul and intelligence will be your advantage and defence in overcoming this particular kind of negativity, ignorance and poor judgement. (In fact, I think “fight” is the wrong word altogether.)

The moment you show acceptance towards someone is the moment a sense of belonging, happiness and positivity occurs inside a person – and you will evidently see that when it happens. Kind of like when you ask to sit with peers at school on a lunch break and the group says yes! It feels good and this goodness can spread! We can even create a domino effect that spreads through to other people who witness the good things happening too.

I’ve witnessed people change another person’s perspective and that other person was just a passer-by. Like the time a man was sitting down near the bus stop and he was eager to get home to his family. Unfortunately he lost his wallet and he needed a few coins, but no one would give him the time of day. It made him angry and he yelled “I have a house you know!” at someone who insulted him, which made people scared and it was evident the negativity had spread. He was rejected again and again with looks and words telling him he didn’t belong in this world. It didn’t help that he sat with his friends, all homeless with racial backgrounds that the majority of society looks down upon. Nor did it help that his clothes were worn and his face was sunken in with the worries of the world – and this shouldn’t make people turn away. But I guess acceptance and equality is a hard thing to grasp for some… Don’t get me wrong – it’s important to be wary and make good judgements, but it’s also important to recognise a person in genuine need…
Thankfully a fellow did stop and asked if they could help, gave the guy $5, they shook hands and the kind fellow went on his way. This single act of kindness turned heads, I saw people, both those who had witnessed what was happening and who just arrived at the spot – smile.. at the man AND at each other! Not just that, I saw someone walk across the street and sit beside this guy and they had a chat about life and struggles and so on. A perfect example of how the small things that seem insignificant can make a larger, positive impact.

Think about the wise words of Grandmother Willow and the ripple effect Grandmother Willow shows us in Pocahontas (remember that?)…

20130527-063921.jpg

Grandmother Willow: Now then, there’s something I want to show you. Look.
[dips her vine in the water in which glowing ripples begin to form]
Pocahontas: The ripples.
John Smith: What about them?
Grandmother Willow: So small at first, then look how they grow. But someone has to start them. Source IMDB

And, to continue on from that, the line from the song that Kev Carmody and Paul Kelly sing together… ‘From little things big things grow‘. (Here’s the song and here’s the lyrics.)

Folks, we have the ability to create a sense of belonging for those that wish to spread this positivity, that acknowledge the significance of accepting others and that embrace differences and individuality.

We have the ability to bring togetherness and equality into our communities and society.

We have the ability to bring out the best in people and ourselves through accepting and respecting each other and our differences.

We are all unique and we are all beautiful.

This beauty and this ability to create something good in others is contained in each and every one of us. This, my friends, truly is the essence of…

AWESOME!

Unity by digitalart from freedigitalphotos.net

Unity by digitalart from freedigitalphotos.net

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , by Lizzie|1000 Awesome Friends. Bookmark the permalink.

About Lizzie|1000 Awesome Friends

Lizzie is the lover of little things & has been described as zany, odd & "weird but in a good way" (whatever that means). She also finds talking about herself in 3rd person awkward. Liz enjoys most things revolving around the genres of fantasy & sci-fi & likes blogging, literature, writing, singing, music, culture & people. Lizzie is currently sharing the admin role with Nicholas for 1000 Awesome Friends , stemmed from Neil Pasricha's 1000 Awesome Things, to keep the awesomeness going. She welcomes all living beings to contribute their awesome thing/experience - she'd love to read them & keep the awesomeness going!

16 thoughts on “#905 The beauty of uniqueness and the power of acceptance

  1. This woman is my inspiration… http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=blgfYLhFN0Y – what I’m talking about! :O

    “Balpreet Kaur is a first-generation sophomore at the Ohio State University where she is studying both Neuroscience and International Development. She hopes to continue on to medical school to become a neurosurgeon, research the effect of social stigma on the progression of mental disorder in developing countries, and hopefully open a few free clinics in Africa. At OSU she is part of the executive board of the Better Together team, president of the Sikh Student Association, and a Humanities Scholar. Being inspired by the tenents of universal love and service in Sikhism, she aspires to learn about the human condition and, one day, save the world — one step at a time. Her turban and faith inspire her to be different and to initiate dialogue with others. She finds herself reading everything and anything in her spare time, meditating, baking vegan desserts, and thinking about the profundities of life.”

  2. I do wish we could all just get along. No judging, no hate, no fights, no wars. I guess I don’t fully understand why we can’t just all love each other. Why do people do bad things and make horrible decisions? Why do people not accept others that are different? Why are people so quick to judge others? Oh, how awesome this world would be if everyone would accept everyone. Their differences, their flaws, their uniquness, their everything!
    I love this post. Thanks Lizzie.

    • I know we can’t all get along fully, as in personally. I can understand when personalities clash, but it’s important to look at the overall picture for sure and to promote a universal love. It’s hard, but if we work at it, we can get there. I believe we can. Did you watch the video?? I must paste the link to her story… A person posted on Reddit (an entertainment/social news site/forum) a picture of Bapreet because she had facial hair. A friend notified her and so she posted underneath her picture and spoke about herself and her culture. The reaction she received was amazing and the guy who posted the photo even apologised… It’s absolutely beautiful.

    • Oh my goodness – I forgot to say thank you Bekah! I’m glad you enjoy the post. Initially, Wendy saw my first draft and then I thought about this topic some more and had to put more into it and change it up. I can’t tell how you many times I had to go back and continuously edit this piece hahaha! I’m never pleased with myself :P. I think, with this one, I wanted to say the right thing and to not scold people, but show people we have this love inside of us that we can share if we put our mind and heart into it. 🙂

      • I had put off watching the video because of the length and I was at work. Just now watched it and was blown away. She is a fantastic inspiration and I hope she goes on to inspire many more and gets more people to open their eyes.

        • Oh that’s alright – I didn’t expect anyone to watch it actually (usually I’m lazy when it comes to that kind of thing… Keep putting it off until I have a moment free to watch a suggested video lol!). Glad you liked it – and her! She’s amazing.

    • I just read that and its so powerful. I wish that I could be more like her, not caring what others thought and only focus on the things that really matter. This world we live in would be much better if more people were like her. I was very surprised to see the guy appologize, but was thankful that he did. He showed humility. I don’t think many people would have written back with an apology.

      • I think the reason why he showed humility and apologised and wanted to be a better person is because of her response. She responded in such a way that it brought the best in the person insulting her and in people who held those types of judgements as well.

        I wish I could be more like her too, because although she doesn’t focus on materialistic things, she doesn’t say “screw you, I don’t need you in my life, I don’t care what you people think” to people who judge her. She loves and accepts people, as they are, anyway… She practices what others preach.

        … I do struggle a lot with my appearance. I’m slowly getting there with being more open and less ashamed by my own personal “thing” I choose to hide. I’m gradually being more open about it because it’s a part of me!

Leave a Reply

