#919 Coming back to old books you haven’t read in a while

Don’t you love the feeling of nostalgia you get when you read through a book you haven’t picked up in years?

Maybe you read it when you were in school or maybe you’re coming back to your all-time favourite series. Whatever the reason, it always give you a good feeling in your belly.

Recently I revisited the world of JK. Rowling’s Harry Potter series and have been exploring Pottermore, the interactive website, whilst doing so. I’m already keen to read the series again!

Hermione Reading

Needless to say, I’m a hoarder of books. But I’m also a hoarder of magazines. However, last year when I moved house, I packed them all up to give away. Thankfully, a good friend said she’d like them! I had always been reluctant to get rid of them, but I know they’re in good hands now! They’re actually good quality too and one day will probably become collector’s items.

Anyway, before then, I had been transporting them bit-by-bit from home to work to give to her. During my lunch breaks, I gave each one a last skim-through before they went to their new home and I found it just as enjoyable getting lost in the magazines the second time as I did first. It was great to see the crafty parts again and it was the perfect opportunity to refresh my memory on the brilliant literature and artists that they featured. It was like re-inspiration!

But most of all, it was AWESOME!

“Hunter Reading”

This entry was posted in Uncategorized by Lizzie|1000 Awesome Friends. Bookmark the permalink.

About Lizzie|1000 Awesome Friends

Lizzie is the lover of little things & has been described as zany, odd & "weird but in a good way" (whatever that means). She also finds talking about herself in 3rd person awkward. Liz enjoys most things revolving around the genres of fantasy & sci-fi & likes blogging, literature, writing, singing, music, culture & people. Lizzie is currently sharing the admin role with Nicholas for 1000 Awesome Friends , stemmed from Neil Pasricha's 1000 Awesome Things, to keep the awesomeness going. She welcomes all living beings to contribute their awesome thing/experience - she'd love to read them & keep the awesomeness going!

6 thoughts on “#919 Coming back to old books you haven’t read in a while

  1. Agree!! A few years back a friend gave me an angel made by an African group of women; the gift to other women worl-wide… their message, “Awaken the spirit!” B-e-a-u-t-i-f-u-l! I’d not realized until that moment how asleep I’d let it get! And so I started to re-awaken with some old books, one such as, “I’m Dancing As Fast As I Can.” Which lead me to another and another, and then this summer past, in July, when I went on a quest for essence and journey with Jesus, after 25 years, I revisited an inspirational: “Hinds Feet on High Places.” I was Awestruck at all that had held a stronghold in my psyche and heart for all the years! I’d no idea.
    I’m a firm believer in keeping the keepers around, because you never know when they’ll call you out again…as Drop Dead Fred said to Lizzy, with a slap on top the head to “Wake UP!!”
    Yes, revisiting can reawaken the spirit…and spirit is Awesome!

  2. Oh, how I love reunions with old friends, a.k.a. favourite books. Some works are worth re-reading annually. It’s fun to take away something new from every reading.

    Your post remings me I’m due to revisit Rowling’s HP series. Thanks, Lizzie.

  3. I just did that! I re-read the Wizard of Oz so I can finish the other 14 books in the series.
    I’ve also just recently purchases A Wrinkle in Time which was my all time favorite book during my pre-teen years. I’m very excited to start reading it again. I’ve read it 3 times already. I wonder how different it will be now that I’m older..

Leave a Reply

