#931 Fake family

I have an Uncle Michael from my dad, Aunt Shawn from my mom, and Aunt Sarah, Uncle Bunky, cousin Jeff, and cousin Tim from my grandma.

But I don’t… not really.

See, they’re my fake family.

These people are your parents’ best friends, grandparents’ friends, and their kids. Though not related by blood, you’re so close you’re practically family. While real families are great and all, there’s something to be said for fake families. You only see them every so often, so when you do, it’s special. You see them just enough to enjoy spending time together, but not so much that you get annoyed by them or any real arguments come up.

Growing up, it’s always important to have someone close in age to hang with at family parties. This doesn’t always work out with real siblings. Extra love!

Having Aunt Sarah and Uncle Dick is like having a third set of grandparents, and Christmas and Thanksgiving is all the more merrier with them around too. Fake families are something special. I hope one day when I have kids I’ll have some close best friends for them to call aunt or uncle.

AWESOME!

Post by olivia.

Photo from here.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized by 1000awesomefriends. Bookmark the permalink.

About 1000awesomefriends

I am just one of the many who have been inspired by Neil Pasricha's 1000 Awesome Things to be better, to see the world as a better place, and to keep the awesome movement alive, as I think it makes the world a better place! We all have enough negative to hear about, what we need is a positive space, positive outlook on life. And I hope this blog will give us the chance to do it!

4 thoughts on “#931 Fake family

  1. I love this! But I’ve never heard of ‘Fake family’- that sounds sad 😦 When we were little, our Second family were our family best friends. The boy Joseph was in my year, and we’ve been through school together since Kindy, and then his sister Annabel and my brother (Josef, haha they were called Big Joseph and Little Josef for a while there) are the same age and have been through school together as well. Actually at my age, they will have known each other for longer than Joseph and I have- since they met when we met, when we were 4 and they were 2! Their dad went to the same school as my mum and his sister was mum’s best friend and bridesmaid. And then their parents were best friends with my Nanna and Pa back when mum was little. Fancy that! But since all the kids have been in high school for a few years, we’ve hardly done anything together! Their family is actually finally coming over tomorrow night for dinner and I can’t wait 😀 Nowadays our more regular second family is just mum’s partner’s family, and I call his kids my brother and sister/step-brother and step-sister because it’s easier than saying “Mum’s partner’s daughter/son Tara/David….. yeah, it’s complicated.” I love second families because you never have fights, they don’t annoy you with their bad habits because you don’t live with them, and every time you do see them it’s like your best friend in the whole world is visiting and you can talk for ageeees and catch up 😀

  2. Hi Olivia,
    GREAT post! It’s just fantastic how we can connect with others and feel kindred even though they’re not blood relatives. Some of Mum’s friends I call Uncle and Aunty because they’re well-known family friends.

    But I’ve never thought of people as “fake family” though. Not that it’s bad, it just seems odd to me to call them that but each to their own! See I’ve been brought up the “Murri” way – I’m part Aboriginal and out of respect, we call our Aboriginal Elders Uncle or Aunty instead of Sir or Ma’am or Miss, Mrs, etc, even if we don’t know them. We also use Sister and Brother. It just brings this closeness and connectedness that we’re all in the world together, journeying together and living together.

    Love this post!

  3. I can’t say that I’ve claimed not family as family. Well, I mean, hmm…. I call my best friend’s mom, Mom because she has been like a mom to me. There’s this older lady at the day care that all the kids call grandma. I think that’s about it. My family’s big enough as it is, I can’t go adding people to it. hahaha

  4. Oh my gosh, I love this so much! It’s written so well, with heart,soul,warmth and nostalgia,
    Norman Rockwell style! Because I was fostered and mentored by many who opened their hearts and homes to me, I have a number of what you call “fake families”, but I see them as SO much more! It is “They” who wanted me, esteemed and gave me purpose,courage,sunshine,strength and confidence; who believe in me, see the best in me and make me aspire to be more than I could have ever imagine; much more like God knows I can be…Because they cared enough to let me know I am worthy!!! On my journey with Jesus this past few weeks,I was welcomed into another BIG family! So much LOVE!!! And with all of this, I have so much to pay forward, all ways, always<3
    Thank you for this post, Olivia. WONDERFUL!!!

Leave a Reply

