#951 The last minute

Because without it, some of us would get nothing done.

Seriously, call me a procrastinator or whatever, but those of you who cram studying the night before the exam, do odd jobs while the microwave is on for a minute, buy the card on the way to the party, write that paper or report the morning it is due, time your arrival at the bus stop just as the bus is getting there, sneak into the store right as itโ€™s about to close, file your taxes the very last day possible, make it through the yellow light, pick a Halloween costume the day of, do it last minute and still pull it off, you know what I am talking about.

At times like that, every moment is precious. So when the clock is tick-tocking, itโ€™s down to the wire and you step up your game and make it happen!

AWESOME!

Photo from here.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized by 1000awesomefriends. Bookmark the permalink.

About 1000awesomefriends

I am just one of the many who have been inspired by Neil Pasricha's 1000 Awesome Things to be better, to see the world as a better place, and to keep the awesome movement alive, as I think it makes the world a better place! We all have enough negative to hear about, what we need is a positive space, positive outlook on life. And I hope this blog will give us the chance to do it!

8 thoughts on “#951 The last minute

  1. THIS IS MY LIFE
    Every time someone else hasn’t started their assignment or study and it’s the night before it’s due or they have a test, people say “You’re doing a Zosia!” I only did about 2 hours max study for my mid-year human biol exam recently, but I still got 84%! So it works out for me ๐Ÿ˜€ I also only studied for my 3 1/2 hour lit exam the morning of, and I didn’t do too badly. I also always stay up late writing assignments. Always have, and most probably always will ๐Ÿ˜› Nice to have someone saying it’s a positive! ๐Ÿ˜€

    • Welllll, I didn’t necessarily say procrastinating is positive, just that having the last minute to be able to do something is awesome. I think that ideally I would prefer procrastinating a little less, but the real problem for me is I don’t say no, so I end up taking on so much that the only way to survive is that magic “last minute” ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Our making it out of LA recently was down to the minute wire, I tell you! Every single strategic move had to have had a divine master hand in on it! There was a kind of hush that said we were literally on a wing and a prayer. We got seated, the door closed; we buckled and “All systems were go!” Thank God for the last minute IS awesome!

    • Wow, this sounds like my average travel experience. In fact, the day I was supposed to post this, I missed a flight, so I decided to put it off a few days, since that wasn’t too awesome at all.
      But on our recent trip to Australia, we had 35 minutes to switch terminals in Sydney to catch our connection to Perth, so we ran, me with bags and baby over the shoulder, with wife and dad coming behind. Then the same thing happened a few days after that with a two-day train trip we caught with literally 5 seconds to spare after arriving to the wrong station in the first place. Then a day after the train trip, we caught a boat with about 3 minutes to spare.
      I’m thinking to myself that I need to leave more buffer time, but it never seems to happen. I hope there’s hope for me ๐Ÿ˜›

  3. I am kind of a procrastinator. When it comes to getting things done, I wait until the last minute. I always get it done and this way, I get it done faster. But when it comes to being somewhere, I have to be early. I can’t stand arriving on time or late for something.

  4. This is so true for me! I made it through college and graduate school like this. So many times I started super long papers the day before it was due and stayed up all night to finish it. This habit was reinforced when I still got an A for my last minute work!

Leave a Reply

