#960 Being greeted at the door as you get home

When Neil Pasricha was in Chapters Toronto to announce the final entry of 1000 Awesome Things, he handed out index cards and had everyone there write down our top awesome thing and then share our card with the person next to us.

For me, I wrote down “when my baby daughter hears me walk in the door and toddles over with her arms out saying ‘Daddy!’”

And it’s true, when you walk in the door after the daily grind, that warm welcome from a loved one or a pet sure feels

AWESOME!

P.S. our blog here at 1000 Awesome Friends is a continuation of that finding and sharing of our awesome things! So feel free to join the conversation as a contributor to the blog. Pick an open date (see About page) and let me know in the comments there. Or if you already contribute, by all means write an extra post or two whenever you have a chance. Or just share your random awesome things from time to time on the Submit page.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized by 1000awesomefriends. Bookmark the permalink.

About 1000awesomefriends

I am just one of the many who have been inspired by Neil Pasricha's 1000 Awesome Things to be better, to see the world as a better place, and to keep the awesome movement alive, as I think it makes the world a better place! We all have enough negative to hear about, what we need is a positive space, positive outlook on life. And I hope this blog will give us the chance to do it!

13 thoughts on “#960 Being greeted at the door as you get home

  1. OMG! I love this. I love being the one to pick my kids up from day care. I always get my daughter first because she’s older and can help me carry things. But, I make her wait until I go in the door first so I can see my son’s face as he runs to me all excited. Lately though, he’ll run to me with his hands out, but stop short only to babble something and bend down to touch the floor. I wish I knew what he was saying.
    Love your picture!

    • Aww, that is priceless! It’s funny about your son, my daughter does the exact same thing now. Before she would run right over for a hug, but now she runs half way, screams and squeals and giggles, then bends over.

  2. It’s just me and my cat at my place ^_^. If he’s in the window when I pull up, he’ll know it’s me coming to the door so he’ll be sitting staring at it when I open it. If he doesn’t know it’s me he’s under the couch and then comes out to say hello once he’s sure it’s me. Either greeting makes me smile. =)

  3. That photo is just so cute!! I’m assuming that’s you Nicholas? And the only person that comes running when I get home is Jack, my Jack Russel :3 Sure, I give mum a hug, but Jack’s funny face is always either sticking out from under the back gate waiting for us, or popping up in the window of the lounge room to us 😀 Then he comes running and barking 🙂

  4. OH MY GOSH! This is as precious as some of the magic just experienced in Disneyland! Parent’s and children loving it up! My grand-daughter smooshing characters. Geppetto kissing my hand!!!
    Nicholas, this is beautiful! Your daughter looks like she’s so happy she wants to bite your head! I just love it when someone is that excited to see me!

    • LOL, Wendy. “Your daughter looks like she’s so happy she wants to bite your head!” You seriously made me LOL. That look in her eyes does look like she’s going to take a bite. I remember when Zach would try to bite my face before he had any teeth.

      • “Bite my head”, lol. Yes, she is a little doll. I love her little pudge here, though that was a few months ago and now it has changed into little curly hair. I’ll have to put more photos in other posts 🙂

          • p.s. on biting love: Normally I’m not a big fan of feet but I used to nibble on my daughter’s feet when they were babies and make them giggle like crazy! Now I do that to my grand-babies and then down the sides pretending they are corn on the cob. Now my grand-son tells me to! Says, “Nanny’s toes! NO Noah’s toes/feet.” Then pushes them in my face for more! I can only hope he understands my love for the game is outgrown at about size 1!

  5. Your daughter is precious! And one of my favorite memories from when I was younger is definitely running with my sister to greet Dad when he got home.

    • Aww, thanks!
      It is such a happy memory. I still remember my dad would come home every evening with his booming voice and say “YOO-HOOOO!!” which would invariably have us running from across the house to see him at the front door.

Leave a Reply

