#962 When you’re having one of those mornings and the universe understands

Due to watching a television show late last night and still recovering from a cold, when I woke up this morning I felt like I had a bazillion pound weight on my head and tape over my eyes with a headache gluing it all together. I really thought that I wasn’t going make it to work on time, or at all. When I got up I was actually planning my apologetic text to my boss in my head “Sorry, I’m running late because a cat ran out in front and it looked adorable so I just had to pet it” or “What’s an appropriate way of saying that I feel like death and can’t come in today?”

But alas, by the kindness of the universe, I magically made it out the door and to the bus stop down the road. Sure, I only had one eye lined and my messy hair was covered with a beanie, but hey, I made it.

As for the morning blues, I wasn’t the only one. Everyone else seemed to be suffering too. Traffic was pretty bad and my bus was ten minutes late and people were falling asleep during the ride. I thought I was going to miss out on getting my morning “help-me-oh-please-help-me-function” latté. However, via the magical powers of the universe, I was able to grab one and still make it to work before 9.00.

Can it get any better on a day like this? The answer is yes, yes it can. Not only are the magical powers of the universe awesome, but the people I met along the way were great and very understanding as well.

I’d like to thank the people who empathized with my terrible morning blues. I don’t think witnessing my half-brushed hair and experiencing my mumble-jumbled speech would have been a pleasant experience. Especially when I was trying to communicate “a large soy, carmel.. curmoll – CARAMEL, latté please” or “Date what’s again? I mean, what’s the date again?” and yet they were nice and they empathized with me.They just knew. The coffee guy said “so you know how it goes, eh?”, the bus driver smiled an empathetic smile when I tripped up the step and the second bus driver even wished me a “fun day.”

This all made my morning a little bit easier to get through. YAY!

AWESOME!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized by Lizzie|1000 Awesome Friends. Bookmark the permalink.

About Lizzie|1000 Awesome Friends

Lizzie is the lover of little things & has been described as zany, odd & "weird but in a good way" (whatever that means). She also finds talking about herself in 3rd person awkward. Liz enjoys most things revolving around the genres of fantasy & sci-fi & likes blogging, literature, writing, singing, music, culture & people. Lizzie is currently sharing the admin role with Nicholas for 1000 Awesome Friends , stemmed from Neil Pasricha's 1000 Awesome Things, to keep the awesomeness going. She welcomes all living beings to contribute their awesome thing/experience - she'd love to read them & keep the awesomeness going!

14 thoughts on “#962 When you’re having one of those mornings and the universe understands

  1. Aww that’s really nice when people realise that you’re having one of those days. They are somehow just that bit nicer- they’re careful not to do anything that might piss you off when you’re not in the best of moods. While reading I thought you were about to say that you were planning how you were going to excuse yourself for being late and then your boss texted saying you didn’t need to come in for work that day- wouldn’t that have been amazing! But yes, it’s awesome that you were able to trudge through the day, and YOU MADE IT 🙂

  2. A very good one! I’ve got the can’t-sleep-sore-throat-lost-voice-dripping-nose blues right now, too, and it’s not been fun in the AM, so a little understanding from those around is welcome support. ~Kathy

    • I have most of that too! I swear I have used 12 tissues to blow my nose in the last hour. The hose is on full bore again. And I have a chesty cough, and losing my voice. And I have to sing in a trio in a local performing arts competition on Tuesday. Bloody hell. I hope my classes understand when I have to make trumpeting sounds at the bin every 10 minutes for the next few days.

  3. This is not about a head cold kind of Universe understanding but a complete paradigm shift in life and every turn being taken, seeming to have the universe “at my back” and enveloping me with love and light, without my hardly even asking…people, symbols and signs everywhere! Listening and hearing, watching and seeing, touching and feeling, feeling, FEELING and following the universe’s lead to heed!
    Literally life-saving at times. Thank you:)

Leave a Reply

