#973 Trying something for the first time and really liking it

A few weeks ago my wife and I were on vacation in Australia and we had the opportunity to go snorkelling. Now snorkelling is something my wife had never experienced, and while she is an excellent swimmer, there is something she really had a problem with: fish! The thought of having little scaly creatures swimming around and next to her was something she was not too comfortable with. But after a little coaxing and cajoling, and getting a guide to swim with us at the reef, she agreed to don the mask and flippers.

The first few minutes in the bay by Shelly Beach were a little troubling and unnerving, but gradually she got acclimatized, and I knew she was really into it when a few minutes later she yelled out, “Hey guys, come over here, check out this stingray!

Stingray in Shelly Beach

Yes, the next hour or so was a celebration of the beauty of the undersea world with its stunning creatures and fauna. And we resolved to snorkel again on a future trip or vacation.

Sometimes trying something new can push us outside our comfort zone. What is that strange food? What is that odd sport? How do you play that instrument? Would I ever be good at doing drama or presentations or acting? Should I ask so-and-so out on a date? Is it time for the first kiss? Could I possibly be any good on the dance floor?

Whatever it is you’ve always been wondering about, in honour of today’s post, give it a try! Who knows, you may really like it. You may end up wondering how you lived without it. It may become your new favourite thing or activity. You’ll never know unless you try.

So get out there, give it a shot, it may just end up being

AWESOME!

P.S. Sign up to get your daily fix from 1000 Awesome Friends via email (see right side).

This entry was posted in Uncategorized by 1000awesomefriends. Bookmark the permalink.

About 1000awesomefriends

I am just one of the many who have been inspired by Neil Pasricha's 1000 Awesome Things to be better, to see the world as a better place, and to keep the awesome movement alive, as I think it makes the world a better place! We all have enough negative to hear about, what we need is a positive space, positive outlook on life. And I hope this blog will give us the chance to do it!

5 thoughts on “#973 Trying something for the first time and really liking it

  1. Haha I have “Trying new things” on my own awesome list šŸ˜€ Although I reckon it’s awesome trying something new even if you don’t like it at all- hey, you gave it a shot! You took a risk! Now you know what not to do in the future šŸ™‚ I was going to try something new today- walk to Maccas from school to get some chips after my Music exam- but I was told we aren’t allowed because we’re in school uniform. How annoying. But Mum picked me up and I got some after all šŸ™‚ Just thought I’d throw that out there haha

  2. I’m getting better at trying new things. I used to not even consider doing anything out of the ordinary, but now I’m all for it. I’m currently in the process of trying to switch jobs and buy my first house. I tried something way out of my comfort zone a few months ago when I joined a gym.
    Love the pics!

    • So, thanks to Simone I think me and hubby are about to try out something really new. She sent me a link to a site that showed me zip lining close to me. I asked him if it would be something he’d like to do for our anniversary and his face lit up. Hopefully we’ll get to go and I can report back here afterwards and let you know how it all went.

  3. Well, this does look like fun…for U-2 anyway! I do love the sea SIDE and beach combing but am some-what afraid of the sea. AaannnD as a child was always told “the things” touching my feet and legs at the ocean was just sea weed. A recent visit and discovery at the Vancouver Aquarium showed these:

    …AND… I rest my case!
    Even though I have some challenges, I’m usually the first to say, YES, I’ll try that! And my goals for this summer are to go on a cattle drive and a zip line:)

Leave a Reply

