#980 Friends & family helping out when you’re sick

We’ve all had those times when we’ve been under the weather. Whether it’s a migraine headache, an infected foot from that nail you stepped on, tonsillitis, stitches for a gash in your arm, a hip replacement, wisdom teeth removal, or just the common cold, we all experience times when we’re just not up to the daily grind.

When illness sets in, we can barely muster the strength to get dressed and traipse to the closet for a fresh box of tissues or even change the channels on the TV; that’s when friends and family step in to help.

They do all of those things we just can’t manage: shopping for juice and medicine, cooking chicken soup, holding your hand in the emergency room, helping you use the new crutches, giving you a bath, picking up your mail, watching bad TV and laughing with you, and waiting for you when you come out of the recovery room. They help us take care of business when we can’t quite manage it ourselves. Without them, our lives would fall into total disarray; with them, we can concentrate on healing.

So, when your family and friends offer to help the next time you’re sick, just say, “Thanks, that would be

AWESOME!”

Post by Kathy

Photos from here and here.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized by 1000awesomefriends. Bookmark the permalink.

About 1000awesomefriends

I am just one of the many who have been inspired by Neil Pasricha's 1000 Awesome Things to be better, to see the world as a better place, and to keep the awesome movement alive, as I think it makes the world a better place! We all have enough negative to hear about, what we need is a positive space, positive outlook on life. And I hope this blog will give us the chance to do it!

6 thoughts on “#980 Friends & family helping out when you’re sick

  1. I haven’t been taken care of while I was sick since I was a kid. Since then, its all me. Even after the c-section with my second child, it was all me. I didn’t have people coming over to do anything or even hubby helping out.
    Headaches don’t keep the children calm or make the hubby do something out of the ordinary.
    I’m the care taker. If you have the sneezes or the sniffles, I’ll take care of you. If you just had your tonsils taken out, I’m there. If you have the flu, I’ll hold your hair back. If you need a ride to the doctor or someone to hold your hand, I’m your gal. Maybe in another life I was a nurse or something.

    • Awww, maybe someday when your children are older they’ll see all you’ve done for them and they’ll take care of and pamper you! Wouldn’t that be nice??? And this is such a sweet and utterly fitting post I’m sure, Kathy, after your surgery. I hope this was born out of you noticing how awesome someone taking care of you was, not out of longing for someone to take care if you!!

      • Really sweet post, Kathy. I hope you are healing very well:0)
        Bekah, I was always the same for everyone. (Not to sound negative, I’m just being honest here.) At 32 yrs. of age, I nearly died from nursing everybody else; from giving it all away! I spent nearly a year in hospital and was forced to learn how to ask for help! My girls had to be cared for by other people and when I got home I had to restructure my whole life! I hope from sharing this, people can see how important it is to get help when in need of help! If not from within the home, reaching out to friends and community services..they are out there:)
        My 6 yr. old grand-daughter and nearly 2 year old grand-son are such big helpers, it’s so sweet and good for them too! You have 2 children who are likely willing-keen to help! Ask, you just might be surprised what you’ve already taught them through example, about kindness to others and compassionate care:) And besides, YOU deserve it too…just like the awesome birthday party you’re going to have for yourself *this year~soon! Right?!:)

  2. Haha, what a timely post again! I just went over to visit my mom and sister who have been sick for three weeks now. Only instead of chicken soup, they wanted McDonalds! Hey, whatever makes you feel better… 🙂

  3. Yes, this post was to honor my smashing family and friends who’ve done soooo much for me of late. I can’t possibly thank them enough! So sorry this post was so tardy, but I had to time it for when I’d be more cognizant of my writing, not slurring my words and mistyping everything due to morphine and pain meds. I’m doing very well now thanks to all of that AWESOME help! I’ve been missing everyone and the board. So glad to be feeling like myself again! 🙂

Leave a Reply

