#992 When that phone call in the middle of the night is nothing serious

Alarm Clock Display

You are groggy, disoriented, lost as you are pulled from the deepest of sleeps by the sound of… the phone. As you gather your bearings and try to figure out where the sound is coming from, you peer over at the clock. 3 AM! Who would call at that time of night? All of a sudden, we might get that sinking feeling inside…

Did Grandma fall again when she got up at night? Is my sister back in the hospital? What did my friend do this time to be back at the police station? Is everything OK with Mom and Dad? Did someone get in an accident? Don’t tell me that old wiring I was supposed to fix ended up causing a fire…

Old Time TelephoneAnd as this wave of worry and panic sweeps over our half-conscious mind, it is no small consolation to pick up the phone to find out nothing is wrong. Sure, it might be annoying if it’s a wrong number, or not so bad if it’s actually a good friend calling to chat on the other end of the line.

But at least when we finally roll back into bed, we can sink peacefully into our dreams, knowing that all is well in the world, and tomorrow will be another sun-shiny day.

AWESOME!

Photos from here and here.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized by 1000awesomefriends. Bookmark the permalink.

About 1000awesomefriends

I am just one of the many who have been inspired by Neil Pasricha's 1000 Awesome Things to be better, to see the world as a better place, and to keep the awesome movement alive, as I think it makes the world a better place! We all have enough negative to hear about, what we need is a positive space, positive outlook on life. And I hope this blog will give us the chance to do it!

4 thoughts on “#992 When that phone call in the middle of the night is nothing serious

  1. p.s. Over at #1 Awesome Things, I wrote about my new friend, Mereike, at The Urban Think Tank, who I found with a big spoon in an empty giant sized jar of Nutella, the day after #1 was posted! I mused, CERTAIN she was “at the after party”, when she chortled; said, she is just addicted…..Inquiring minds wanted to know where she bought the giant sized jarsand she’s just told me, COSTCOS! I googled this for those who may not have COSTCO in their town or country and it turns out COSTCO will ship these giant sized jars to your door:) Just sharing the really important and awesome stuff! Just keeping it going and growing…just like Nutella is:)
    ********Going to be a bright, bright, bright, Sunshiney day!!!!!!!!

  2. I’ve actually been keeping my phone on vibrate or silent at night. I’ve been awaken from my slumber by so many wrong number drunken dials. Some guy looking for Big T. There’s this chick that texts me looking for Brittany. There’s this boy that calls from time to time asking for his mom. A rough voice called me once asking for shorty. There was a giggly girl not too long ago who was calling for Mr. Mike.
    So..because of these calls, I now keep my phone on vibrate while the house sleeps. I am up and down so many times throughout the night, though. I check my phone every time to make sure no one actually called for me.

    • Wow, your number must be really similar to a lot of other numbers.
      I normally don’t have any phone near the bed, so if it rings, it’s not too bad. But if someone calls back again and again at night, it’s normally not good.

Leave a Reply

