#994 When your workplace has a social committee

ice cream, michael scott, the office…because that can mean anything from surprise ice cream treats and bake sales, to Hawaiian-themed cruises and Halloween parties, to ping pong in the boardroom, to poker tournaments after hours! The sky’s the limit.

Social committees make work more like fun, the office more like spending time with friends, our day just that much more

AWESOME!

Photo from here.

P.S. Here are some photos from the night when Neil Pasricha announced the #1 Awesome Thing at the end of the original time-ticking countdown of Awesome! It was so wonderful to be there, with everything from spontaneous dance-offs to chocolate milk on tap, awesome!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized by 1000awesomefriends. Bookmark the permalink.

About 1000awesomefriends

I am just one of the many who have been inspired by Neil Pasricha's 1000 Awesome Things to be better, to see the world as a better place, and to keep the awesome movement alive, as I think it makes the world a better place! We all have enough negative to hear about, what we need is a positive space, positive outlook on life. And I hope this blog will give us the chance to do it!

8 thoughts on “#994 When your workplace has a social committee

  1. We don’t have any of that here. Its pretty uptight and 98% of the people are too snobby. It’d be nice to let loose and have a party every once in a while. I couldn’t even tell you the last time we had a potluck lunch. I think it has a lot to do with the new boss.

  2. Well I don’t work so I can’t say I know what that’s like… although the one free dress day we got in Year 8 was good. Although they stopped having them after that because girls were dressing too slutty >:l Now we have to pay a gold coin donation to wear sports uniform all day once a year… And we do have the yearly Feast Day celebrations where each homeroom sets up a stall and you buy things or pay for a game and the profits go to Caritas. But anyway 🙂
    I was going to say that DANCE OFFS and CHOCOLATE MILK ON TAP: I should have known that the Awesome conventions wouldn’t just be normal speeches and readings and prizes and stuff. UGH SO WANT TO HAVE BEEN THEREEEE!

  3. My office did have middle name day – we just called everyone by their middle name all day. We were supposed to ignore anyone using our first name. We had Hawiian shirt day. After that fun was outlawed, and I have no idea who put the bosses pictures on the milk cartons.

  4. As for relating to Emmy, I recall a day we had in grade 6 when cultural backgrounds potlatched an awesome ethnic party! Nothing skanky about that huh Emmy;)
    I was thinking “office”, so thought this never happened to me b/c I’ve never worked in an office, but then it occurred to me, “anywhere there is a social committee and recalled an example! I’d been far too responsible prior to this for survival and I have to say… this was awesome, harmless, FUN! We took out last year of the 70’s with this! I worked for a large plant nursery in the Fraser valley. And we were not just “planted” on the 80 acre grow site, we were contracted to nurture the green space between the east and west bound sides of the TCHwy., from Vancouver to Abbotsford, which meant dbl. pay by the gov’t those days and sometimes people passed a beer out their car window, having mercy on us on rainy or high heat days! We were a crew of about 11 and formed a tight-knit sort of family to survive all the elements! For example, we played games to pass freezing cold time under terrential down pours, (talk about rain hair:), games such as, race your slug! Seriously business this was hiding from the bosses in the fog to see whose slug could stay on the course and pass the finish line first! Grand-mother’s trunk was played on what would otherwise be known as menotanous, potting machine days and discovered Grandmother had some pretty hilarious and great *hit hidden in her trunk! WE helped one another through some rough and tumble trials and tribulations. Thursday nights was girls night out and friday’s everyone went out together for dinner and then sometimes dancing, playing pool, darts, shuffle board, etc. BBQues were had, horse-shoe tournaments and I even won a mechanical bull-riding contest one night, which comprised of pitchers of beer for the crew for the rest of the night and about $100, which was good prize money then! I don’t think many of us payed our bills well, and b/c we were not in a union, our $8.00/hr. positions were easily replaced by $1.00/hr. immigrants. Absolutely no offense to the people we were replaced by, we could not believe how underappreciated our efforts were to the owners of the complany! Likely a good thing the social-party was broke up though, so we could be properly launched back into a more responsible…bleck, bleck, bleck…I’d been far too responsible prior to this and became far too responsible after this
    I don’t know if I’m on track and this is the same as what you’re all talking about here, but my closest relatable story! Great awesome people! GOOD TIMES! THanks for bringing up the memory:)
    And, THANKS for sharing the pictures and reflections of the #1 awesome night in Toronto:)

    • Wow, that sounds like a ton of fun!
      Now that you mention it, I’ve had some crazy activities where I’ve worked, like hanging out with camp counsellors in Florida at night and being surprised by an alligator. Or racing 4-wheelers when the kids are asleep. Or 2 am pizza deliveries for all of us stuck at the office during budget season.
      That’s definitely the idea, anything to make work a fun place is definitely awesome! 🙂

  5. I was in charge of the social committee where I worked previously and it was terrific! I loved planning happy hours, holiday and retirement parties, weekend outing, jeans days, etc. I AB-SO-LUTE-LY love planning social fun! Hope the next job I get has a social committee I can join! For now, I enjoy planning the fun for my friends!

  6. I have been lucky enough to have a social committee wherever I have worked, and while some are more active then others, it’s just nice to have a group of people around to help make work a better, funner place.

Leave a Reply

