#1000 Role models

We’ve all had one growing up…

Maybe it was a family member, a friend, a big brother or sister or cousin. Maybe a movie star or a sports star. Perhaps it was that special someone with a twinkle in their eye or a halo in the sky. A superhero, an unsung hero, whoever it was, they meant the world to us.

We looked up at them, we turned to them, we learned from them, we held their hand and felt secure. They helped us be who we are today. If we were with them, things were alright.

And somewhere along the way, as days turn into months, and months into years, one fine day we realize that others are looking to us, turning to us, considering us their role model in some little or big way. And it’s time for us to step up, to answer to call, to give back what we received.

So wherever you are on the great circle of life, this post is a tribute to role models that were, that are and that will be, because thanks to you, life is just that much more

AWESOME!

Photo from here.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized by 1000awesomefriends. Bookmark the permalink.

About 1000awesomefriends

I am just one of the many who have been inspired by Neil Pasricha's 1000 Awesome Things to be better, to see the world as a better place, and to keep the awesome movement alive, as I think it makes the world a better place! We all have enough negative to hear about, what we need is a positive space, positive outlook on life. And I hope this blog will give us the chance to do it!

15 thoughts on “#1000 Role models

    • It’s Becca, I had to make a new user name for my blog account because “Becca” was surprisingly already taken.

  1. What a wonderful way to kick this off! You are being one!!!

    I’m blessed to have had many role models. Sadly, they all left here too soon. Now the table’s turned, I’m being called on to do the same and I’m rising to the honor in their name of love.

    • this is me, Wendy. The site will not allow me to post any other way. For the record and a number of reasons, the website never got off the ground.

    • Aww, thanks Wendy.
      In many ways, my role model was my Grandpa growing up, I really loved spending time with him, just doing the things I did as a kid with him.
      Actually I was also thinking about Neil when I wrote this, as without his work, this blog wouldn’t even be here and each of our worlds would not be the same as it is.

  2. I adore that picture of the baby. I’ve had lots of great teachers that were wonderful role models. As of right now, though, I can’t think of anyone that I look up to or seek out for guidance. I try to be a good role model for my kids and my brothers.

  3. I have a couple of friends I consider role models and I have deep respect for them and all they’ve taught me. 🙂

  4. Great first post! Thank you for being one. I have several role models and a few bad examples to learn from in my life. The challenge is emulating the right one. 🙂

  5. Two of my role models will be here in less than an hour! My mother and brother are flying in for my graduation on Friday! They are two wonderful people and they’ve been so supportive of me all my life. ❤

Leave a Reply

