This post is special for me… being a late arrival to the community of 1000 Awesome Things, this is the first post I ever commented on and sent to all my friends and coworkers. I still crack up every time I read it! So to everyone out there who has ever had a job, you know what your first job was like… and your first job interview. Be honest, how badly did you really do? 😉

1000 Awesome Things

I used to run a sandwich shop.

Yes, I was a rootin’, tootin’, mayo-squirting king in the dirty mustard-smeared sandwich underbelly. I helped manage about a dozen high school kids and together we fired sandwiches down an assembly line, into paper bags, and right on out the door. I tell you, we served up Deliciousness with a capital D, and I miss those long days full of dirty aprons, melted cheese, and unlimited refills.

Part of my job at the sandwich shop was conducting interviews. I ended up sitting down with a lot of teenagers who were applying for their first ever job. They came in toting dog-eared resumes  that looked like the Microsoft Word template complete with skills like “Very punctual” and hobbies like “Insert hobbies here.”

I kept a notepad along the way and here are some actual excerpts from interviews I conducted back then.

Hold onto your…

View original post 1,367 more words

This entry was posted in Uncategorized by 1000awesomefriends. Bookmark the permalink.

About 1000awesomefriends

I am just one of the many who have been inspired by Neil Pasricha's 1000 Awesome Things to be better, to see the world as a better place, and to keep the awesome movement alive, as I think it makes the world a better place! We all have enough negative to hear about, what we need is a positive space, positive outlook on life. And I hope this blog will give us the chance to do it!

5 thoughts on “

  1. My first job was as a tutor at a library when I was 14. I guess I went there often enough and seemed sweet enough that I got the job without an interview. Four jobs later and I still haven’t had a “real” interview. Though that seemed like a great thing each time, now as a fresh graduate I’m looking at my first ever “real” interview, and it’s scary. S.C.A.R.Y.

    • I haven’t had a real interview yet either. First job, they just asked me if I had a car to get there. Second job, I applied and then they showed me around, I was hired. Third job, I had to take a bunch of tests, but still no interview. The job I’m at now I came into as a temp and they liked me so I was hired with no interview. And at the temp agency, I just had to hand them my resume.
      I’m trying to get another job and I’m scared too that they’ll have a real interview.

  2. Anyone notice that the one guy says he likes reading fiction (which means made up stories) and then says he is reading a basketball player’s autobiography. I know he didn’t say he only read fiction, but I still find it funny.

Leave a Reply

