In this second post in our tribute to 1000 Awesome Things, I chose #980 because Neil said this is the first post that made his blog take off with daily hits in the hundreds. And seeing my baby daughter clamber all over the most dangerous contraptions in the playground last night, I know why 😉

FYI, we’re getting our act together and many friends and fans are stepping forward to create new awesome posts every day of the month, starting May 1. To be part of the adventure, see the About page and pick a date to contribute.

Thanks to everyone for the positive energy, AWESOME!

1000 Awesome Things

Tssssss!

Slides used to be dangerous.

After climbing up those sandy, metal crosstrax steps you got to the top and stared down at that steep ride below. The slide was burning hot to the touch, a stovetop set to high all day under the summer sun, just waiting to greet the underside of your legs with first-degree burns as you enjoyed the ride. It also smelled like hot pee, years of nervous children with leaky diapers permanently marking it as their territory. Lastly, to top it all off, there were no cute plastic siderails or encapsulated tube-slides, which meant that if you went too fast or aimed your legs poorly, your shoes would grip-skid on the metal, and you’d spill over the side, landing face down with a sickening thud in a bed of pebbles, cigarette butts, and milk thistles.

World of Unimaginable DizzinessIt wasn’t just slides, either. Everything in the playground was…

View original post 567 more words

This entry was posted in Uncategorized by 1000awesomefriends. Bookmark the permalink.

About 1000awesomefriends

I am just one of the many who have been inspired by Neil Pasricha's 1000 Awesome Things to be better, to see the world as a better place, and to keep the awesome movement alive, as I think it makes the world a better place! We all have enough negative to hear about, what we need is a positive space, positive outlook on life. And I hope this blog will give us the chance to do it!

6 thoughts on “

  1. Nothing will beat the days when I was slung off the merry-go-round or kids falling from the monkey bars breaking their arms.
    Our swingset when I was little use to rock up high in the air whenever we swung on it. We tried so many times to tip the thing, but was unsuccessful.
    Metal slides… do those exist any more? I know the playground at my daughter’s school and the day care has all plastic slides.

  2. Aww, this post made me happy. It was this post that first brought me to the blog when, I think, someone posted it on facebook…I’m not sure but I know it was love ever since.
    By the way, I love the drawing of the feet flying haha

Leave a Reply

