The Journey of Awesome continues!

As Neil Pasricha posted the final awesome thing last night after the dizzying four-year countdown of the 1000 Awesome Things, there was a collective wave of emotion: happiness, amazingness, emptiness, anticipation, awesomeness! We have changed so much, the world has changed so much for the better, lives have been transformed forever.

As I stood in the Chapters in Toronto last night, listening to Neil present the last Awesome thing, he said that this would not be the end, but just the beginning.

So how do we keep it going? I know from my months of following the blog that there is a host of loyal followers of Awesome. I would like to hear your input on how we can give shape to this, to have a place to share, to move forward.

As one loyal commenter, Laura, wrote in the comments:

I agree, Freddo, we’ll need some sort of content, probably. Maybe we could take days. So we’ll need 31 people, at least, each of us with day, and it’ll be our jobs to come up with a topic o’ the day.

Ok, we can fine-tune the details about that in a bit … 😉

Anyway, really, maybe now that we don’t have someone doing all the leg-work for us (AKA thinking of and writing about awesome things), we could get a place to share anything awesome that happened to us recently and find/share awesome pictures/news from elsewhere on the Interwebs. Hmmm. We can keep thinking.

And as Bekah added:

We can start a blog and have access to it so we can post on it and then we’d all leave each other comments. Pictures, stories, our awesome thing of the day….. no trolls and no negative attitude allowed.

So with those general thoughts or guidelines in mind, what are your thoughts? How would you like to move forward?

I really like the idea of 31 posters writing an awesome thing a month that would be published as fresh content every day for us to comment on.

To tell you the truth, as a first time blogger this morning after being inspired by Neil last night, I am excited… but also daunted. He mentioned that 99% of blogs fail in the first week for lack of continuity, so I know I won’t be able to do this without your help.

So we are a community, a community of Awesome! Let’s hear some ideas.

Maybe for the first month we could do a top 30 rehash of the 1000 Awesome Things based on hits until we get our game together. What say you?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized by 1000awesomefriends. Bookmark the permalink.

About 1000awesomefriends

I am just one of the many who have been inspired by Neil Pasricha's 1000 Awesome Things to be better, to see the world as a better place, and to keep the awesome movement alive, as I think it makes the world a better place! We all have enough negative to hear about, what we need is a positive space, positive outlook on life. And I hope this blog will give us the chance to do it!

46 thoughts on “The Journey of Awesome continues!

    • Ok… so I wouldn’t mind being one of those 31 people. I’m not the best writer, but I’m ok. I’m not as witty as Neil, but I can hold my own. If we get to pick our own days, the I’d like the 13th since that’s my birthday day. The only problem I have is that I don’t have a computer at home and can only do this through my work computer. So.. days that I’m off sick or out with the kids will be difficult for me to post. As for blogs dying, I’ve had my personal blog for 3 years now I think and my smile blog for a year and they’re going good. My personal blog is more or less a journal for me and my smile blog is how I spread the happy. Take a peek at it. Its linked in with my name. I did my little tribute to Neil on today’s post.
      I hope others will come on here and agree to do it this way. I don’t really have access to Facebook and am not registered on there anyway. This is perfect, I think. A blog in honor of a blog.

      • Hey Bekah,
        Thanks for making it over and stepping on up. I don’t think we have to be amazing writers to make a little difference, just do the best we can. Plus we’ll have a month to work on what we want to say.
        You’re definitely on for the 13th, though I think that maybe we’ll have a month of tribute via a top-30 countdown from the most read original 1000 awesome things before launching into our own. That will give us 30 days to get started and organized.
        And I don’t know, but I think there’s a way to make a post ahead of time and schedule it to appear on a certain date, so even if we’re not free the day we’re scheduled, we can at least post early and have it appear the right day.
        By the way, I love the smiles blog, cute and simple… it made me smile 😀 I’l check the other one soon.
        Yes, I don’t do Facebook too much, esp. after Facebook deleted a group with 1000+ followers I created for humanitarian work (grr!), so this works much better for me.

      • Thanks!
        Yeah, I forgot you can post things ahead of time and have it scheduled to come off whenever you want it to. I do that sometimes with my smile blog.
        I do like the idea about counting down the most visited/commented from 1000awesomethings. That might take a bit of research, but I’m still game!

      • Is this where we are going to do it? I like the title for it. How to I become someone that posts on here? … a moderator.. is that what its called?

          • AW!!! I remember when there was one on Neil’s blog, but it disappeared.
            Wendy, I am again having technical difficulties with my smile blog. It seems its going to out of commission until at least June when I can get a smart phone.

    • Hey there! 🙂 So happy to see this is starting! I, too, am not a skilled blogger/writer, but I’d enjoy sharing the awesome! If I may perchance take part, I’d love the 21st! If that’s not available, the 29th would be great, too. I also think it a very practical idea to begin the month with a replay of the top Awesome to give us a chance to gather our thoughts and learn this blogging thing. Thanks for undertaking this effort, 1000awesomefriends! 😉

  1. Okay, I’ll admit it – despite reading 1000 awesome things for ages I only commented for the first time last week. But… I really love the blog, and all you commenters are truly awesome. So I’m in, at least with commenting here… If you’ll have me.

  2. I want to help! I actually want to be a writer once I finish school, so I’m pretty sure I can write something each month. If we are going by birthdays, Mine is on the 12. But I’m good with any day.

    • Bingo, sounds great Becca! Thanks for the coming on board and thanks for the offer, 12th sounds great.
      I’ll have to make a running list each day showing which spots are still open.
      I’m the 3rd by the way.

  3. I would love to help out. I love 1000awesomethings.com and this would be an amazing thing to do. My birthday’s the 18th!

    • It’s me, Wendy! Not Back in Black, but I’m back in Blue! Just look at all of you here already! I’m SO HAPPY to see you:)

      • ok. if allowed songs, i’ll be “song sung blue”, on my birth date, the 25th.:)

        and if not allowed songs, I’ll dance! Just Kidding…I’ll post something remarkable!

      • *Confession- I was playing with words- ya’ know real bearded…Santa’s! Still, you’re a Saint:)
        Bekah’s beautiful story about framing the fortune cookie for her hubby reminded me of a course I took a few years back where everyday we had to journal. Sometimes I taped a fortune to the top of the page to inspire the entry. Fortunes can be a great spark for many things..just saying:)

  4. I would love to contribute too! My birthday is the 26th, so that would be great 🙂 Just realised that anyone with 31 won’t necessarily get a post each month, although that’s for them to worry about or not. And I still have my little square 🙂 I’ve gotten quite fond of it, even though it is quite plain. And I think this blog idea is brilliant! It may take a while to get settled, but I’m sure it’ll be great! 🙂

      • Haha aww thank you 🙂 I love yours!! It’s so cool- a nice, simple greyish-teal, with cool triangles and dots in an octagon. Vedyy naiice 😀

        • Both of your squares are really cool! 🙂

          What colour is mine, anyways? Maroon? *squints* *turns up the brightness of my iPod’s screen* Yep. Or maybe burgundy… What’s the difference again?

          • OMG MagicFishy I LOVE yours! The pattern and colour- it’s so awesome! i think that’s the coolest I’ve seen so far 🙂 And as for burgundy vs maroon, I think maroon is browner and burgundy is purple…er. haha 😛

    • Thanks Emma for taking part. I’m sure it’ll go great, after all, who doesn’t love awesome things?!
      I put you down on the 26th.
      Good point about the 31st, I’ll make that a guest post day for people who send in random awesome things. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

